RJ Jazul from Phoenix named Mr. Quality Minutes

Veteran security guard RJ Jazul and the thrilling quarter-final match between Phoenix Super LPG and Magnolia in the Philippine Cup will be in the spotlight on the upcoming virtual awards night of the PBA Press Corps.

Jazul, 34, and the Fuel Masters team captain, was named Mr. Quality Minutes by the bench for his immense contributions, while Phoenix’s 89-88 win, ousting the hotshots in the playoffs, was unanimously voted the game of the bubble of the men and women who regularly cover the PBA beat.

The two-in-one award ceremony, at which the 2019 winners will also be honored, will take place on March 7th in the TV5 Media Center and will be presented by Cignal TV.

The 5-foot-11 Jazul averaged 11.0 points, 2.3 rebounds and 2.1 assists in 17 games in 17 games last season. He posted a career high of 33 points in the Fuel Masters 110-101 win over five-time champions San Miguel Beer, topped by nine three-point points to secure a place in the quarterfinals.

The Fuel Masters, the No. 2 seed, also made their mark in the playoffs after taking their memorable comeback win over the Hotshots with the seventh seed, which Matthew Wright finished with a running triple in the final 9.8 seconds.

Jazul and the Phoenix Magnolia game are part of the various Bubble Awards to be given as part of the event, which will be shown on PBA Rush on March 8th.

Previously, CJ Perez (Scoring Champion) and the all-rookie team (Aaron Black, Arvin Tolentino, Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona and Renzo Subido) were announced as part of the honor roll.

Perez, the former NCAA MVP from Lyceum, averaged 24.4 points during the all-Filipino conference last year when he was with Terrafirma and led the league for the second straight season. As a newcomer, he standardized 20.8 points when he ran away with the award “Rookie of the Year” and a place in the Mythical Team.

Still to be named are the outstanding trainer of the bubble, Mr. Executive, the President’s Award, the Top Bubble D-Fender, the All Bubble D-Fender and a special quote.

Meanwhile, Baby Dalupan Trainer of the Year, Leo Austria of San Miguel, and Danny Floro, PBA Chairman of the Year, Ricky Vargas, led last season’s award winners, including presidential award winner Vergel Meneses, mayor from Bulakan, Bulacan and one of the 25 PBA’s include Greatest Player and Defensive Player of the Year Sean Anthony of NorthPort.

Sean Anthony (Defensive Player of the Year) completes the 2019 award; Terrence Romeo (Mr. Quality Minutes); June Mar Fajardo (Order of Merit); NorthPort versus NLEX (game of the season), Perez, Robert Bolick, Bobby Ray Parks Jr., Javee Mocon and Abu Tratter (all-rookie team); Kiefer Ravena, Christian Standhardinger, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos and trainer Yeng Guiao (all-interview team); and PBA D-League Final MVP Thirdy Ravena (Aspirants’ Cup) and Hesed Gabo (Foundation Cup).

Comments are closed.